There are many reasons why you might want to cancel your Netflix subscription, whether you’re looking to reduce your monthly costs or switching to another TV streaming service.
Of course, you’re saying goodbye to a large number of iconic Netflix series and Netflix movies.
If you have a streaming subscription with Netflix that you want to cancel, you must first sign in to the Netflix app or open it in your web browser. Then click your account icon in the upper-right corner of the page and select “Accounts”.
In the “Membership&Billing” section, you’ll see a button that says “Unsubscribe” – click this, and they’ll take you to a new page, where you have the option to unsubscribe or downgrade your current plan.
If you have a Standard hd or 4K Premium plan, you can try downgrading your account to a standard definition plan to save some money without losing access to the streaming platform all at once.
If not, click the “End cancellation” button to stop your subscription. Once you cancel your subscription, you’ll continue to have access to your Netflix account until the end of your current billing period.
If you left a Netflix gift card or promotional balance in your account when you cancel your subscription, you can stream it until your balance runs out, after which cancellation will take effect automatically.
For up to 10 months after you cancel your subscription, you can reset your profile, favorite programs, and account details. All you have to do is re-subscribe to the service, and all your viewing preferences will be there waiting for you.
If you chose a one-month free trial on Netflix and decided you didn’t want to drop your paid subscription, you can cancel your account in exactly the same way.
However, a word of warning; If you don’t cancel your account before you stop your free trial, you’ll be automatically charged the next month of streaming.
Netflix sends you a reminder when your free trial is about to expire, but it’s worth setting a reminder on your smartphone if you plan to cancel your Netflix account at the end of your free trial.
If you just want to delete a profile from your Netflix account, go to your account icon in the upper-right corner of the app and select “Manage Profiles”.
The different profile icons will appear with a pencil symbol in the lower left corner; Click the icon of the account you want to change and from there, you can edit the profile.
Here you have the option to change the profile name, language, icon image and adult content filters (useful if you have young children and want to limit their display to children-friendly programs). You can also delete the profile here, unless it’s your primary account profile, in which case you’ll need to delete the entire account to delete it.
After you delete a profile, the view history of that profile is also deleted.
If you want to hide titles from your Netflix watch history, you must first select the profile from which you want to delete the watch history. Once there, click on your account icon and select “Account” from the drop-down menu.
Scroll down to the “My Profile” section and click “My Activity” where all the shows you’ve watched recently will appear.
At the bottom of the viewing activity, you can click the “Hide All” button to delete the view history – it’s worth noting that this action can’t be undone and within 24 hours, the titles you’ve deleted won’t get Most used will be used to make recommendations and will not be displayed as watched if you click on them again in the future. Therefore, display recommendations may be more accurately tailored to your preferences.