How to delete your Snapchat/Instagram account?

Regardless of the cause, we’ve created this post to show you how to delete Snapchat or Instagram account.
You must first deactivate your account before you can remove it. During this time, you can easily reactivate by logging in again if you change your mind. Your deactivated account will be completely deleted after 30 days, which will result in the loss of all of your Snaps, Chats, Stories, friends, settings, and data.
Because of this, you might need to download your data before deleting your account.

How to delete your Snapchat account?

To delete your Snapchat account, you can follow these steps:

  1. Open the Snapchat app on your device.
  2. Log in to your account, if you haven’t already.
  3. Tap on your profile icon in the top-left corner of the screen.
  4. Select the gear icon in the top-right corner of the screen to open the Settings menu.
  5. Scroll down and tap on “Support”
  6. Scroll down and Tap on “My Account & Security”
  7. Now, Tap on “Account Information”
  8. Tap on “Delete My Account”
  9. Next, you’ll be asked to enter your username and password.
  10. After that you’ll be prompted to provide a reason for deleting the account.
  11. Snapchat will then send you an email to confirm account deletion.

    delete Snapchat account
    photo: Pixabay

Please note that after you delete your account, your account will be deactivated for 30 days before it is deleted permanently, during this 30 days if you login to your account, the account will be reactivated. Also there is no way to undo account deletion after confirmed.

How to delete Snapchat from a browser or Android smartphone
Go directly to Snapchat’s accounts page if you wish to remove your account on an Android phone or web browser.
Simply enter your username and password to log in, confirm your usernames and passwords, then click Continue to delete your account.

How to download my data before deleting Snapchat account?

  • By signing onto Snapchat and navigating to Settings, you may access and update parts of your personal information, including your name, email address, phone number, and Bitmoji. Simply tap your profile icon in the top-right corner to access your profile, and then tap the gear icon to access Settings.
  • Visit our accounts website or scroll to “Account Actions” under Settings, and then follow the steps below to obtain more information, such as the date your account was created and the devices that have signed into your account.

Go to accounts.snapchat.com and sign in.
Click “My Data,” then at the bottom of the page, “Submit Request.”

When your data is prepared for download, we’ll send you an email with a link if you provide a valid email address. Do not send link to anyone.
To get your data, click on the link in your email.
To download your data, click the provided link.

Additionally, a zip file will be delivered together with your “My Data” download. You need appropriate software on your device to open a zip file and view its contents.

How to delete your Instagram account?

To delete your Instagram account, you can follow these steps:

  1. Go to the Instagram website on a computer or mobile browser.
  2. Log in to your account, if you haven’t already.
  3. Tap or click on your profile picture in the top-right corner of the screen.
  4. Select “Edit Profile”
  5. Scroll down and tap or click on “Temporarily disable my account”
  6. Select the reason for disabling your account.
  7. Re-enter your password.
  8. Click or tap on “Temporarily Disable Account”

    delete your Insta
    photo: Pixabay

Please note that after disabling your account, the account will be deactivated for 14 days, if you login to your account within 14 days, your account will be reactivated. If you don’t want to reactivate account within 14 days, it will get deleted permanently Also, there’s no way to undo an account deletion once it’s confirmed.

How to download my data before deleting Instagram account?

To download your data before deleting your Instagram account, you can follow these steps:

  1. Go to the Instagram website on a computer or mobile browser.
  2. Log in to your account, if you haven’t already.
  3. Tap or click on your profile picture in the top-right corner of the screen.
  4. Select “Settings” (the gear icon)
  5. Select “Privacy and Security”
  6. Select “Data Download”
  7. Enter your email address where you want the link to download data sent, then click on “Request Download”
  8. Instagram will send you an email with a link to download your data.
  9. Click on the link in the email, and you’ll be prompted to enter your password.
  10. After you enter your password, you’ll be able to download your data, which will be provided in the form of a .zip file containing all your photos, videos, messages, and other information.

Please note that the link for data download will expire after 48 hours, If you don’t download the data in 48 hours, you will have to repeat the process and request for data download again. Also, after you download your data, you can proceed with disabling or deleting your account if you choose to.

Advertisements

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More