IT Tips

How to roll back your macOS From Catalina to Mojave ?

The macOS update can be exciting. Your Mac has a new look and you can use features that unlock new ways to use not only your computer, but also iOS devices that work with it.

However, it can also be a problem. You may lose features or apps that are no longer available. Your computer may also experience performance issues while the new operating system is running, even if it meets the minimum requirements.

Whatever the reason, if you’ve changed your mind and want to roll back macOS Catalina (10.15) to Mojave (10.14), here are a tip to do it fast.

How to downgrade Catalina to Mojave using Time Machine
Time Machine is the built-in backup utility for macOS. And if you want to go back to Mojave after updating, it can also help you with this. If you realize shortly after the update that you want to downgrade macOS, you can restore a backup from before the change. This technique has a time limit, unfortunately; you must use it before the program completes the previous backup.

Connect the backup hard drive to your Mac.

Restart (or start) your Mac while you press and hold Command.

The macOS Utility window opens. Select Restore from Time Machine Backup and click Continue.

When the Select Restore Source window appears, highlight the backup drive and click Continue.

Enter the user password to access the disk (if encrypted).

On the next screen, select the backup that you want to use. Find one with 10.14 in the MacOS Version column. It’s Mojave’s release number.

Click Continue to continue.

On the next screen, select the destination (typically your Mac’s built-in hard drive) and click Restore.

Your Mac will restore the backup and restart with macOS Mojave installed.